Look Ma, No Hams!

DSC_4249
I like ham as much as the next girl. In fact, my great-great-grandparents launched Babor’s Celebrated Sausage in St. Louis, MO in 1880 and the business was a mainstay for exactly one hundred delicious years. I have to say, the Babors had the marketing thing DOWN – beautiful foods in the cases, beautiful people behind the counters. It’s not rocket science, you know? So it is with a heavy heart that I recommend a meatless Easter Brunch. I know, I know – but my beloved grandfather, the delectable and divine Norm Babor, would understand. I was his favorite. I was. He told me. Pinky swear.
So, this year, breaking tradition, I am recommending another family recipe. Larry DiPasquale’s daughter, Christina, learned how to make Sicilian Doughnuts on a trip to Italy and wow are we happy she was a good student. We suggest a fresh fruit salad, mimosas, and Christina’s Sicilian Doughnuts for your Easter brunch. Oh – and lots and lots of coffee – secretly digging for jelly beans after the kids go to bed takes a lot out of you. Or so I’ve heard.

Christina’s Sicilian Doughnuts

Ingredients:
– 6 eggs
– 1/2 cup sugar
– 1 1/2 lbs ricotta cheese
– 2 cups + 2 tbsp flour
– 4 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1 qt corn oil (for frying)
– 1 cup sugar
– 1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:
– Beat eggs in a mixer with sugar until they turn pale yellow
– Add ricotta, followed by the flour, baking soda, and vanilla. Incorporate well
– Heat 2-3 inches of oil in a heavy pan
– Bring oil to 375 degrees
– Fill a teaspoon with dough, hold spoon in one hand while gently sliding dough into the oil using another spoon (if the oil is hot enough, the doughnuts will cook and turn over without any help – if not, turn with a large spoon and brown on both sides)
– Continue adding dough as space allows and fry until golden brown
– Drain on paper towels, combine cinnamon and sugar, and sprinkle warm doughnuts with the mix

Serves 4-8

Cheers,

Stephanie Blackford
Communications & Community Outreach Director, Epicurean Culinary Group
sblackford@epicureanCG.com

Leave a comment