Joan Rivers’ Secret Family Recipe

JoanRivers

I just returned from New York City aka The Big Apple aka The City that Never Sleeps aka The Ultimate Cultural-Culinary Melting Pot, all of which make it one of the great cities of the world. I found that the recent death of Joan Rivers has hit New Yorkers hard, especially Gordon, a middle-aged man who I found weeping into his iPad on a park bench outside my sister’s Murray Hill pad. I felt badly for him.

I felt even worse when I found him on the same park bench the next day. Still crying. He had been her fan since before her first facelift and fondly told me an unsolicited story of seeing her one morning walking her Yorkie (which, given the name, is THE quintessential New York breed). He said good morning, she said good morning and, for him, that was good enough.

While I’ve known for a while that Rivers was, underneath, a warm and gracious woman (with a sharp and biting humor), I had no idea she was quite the gifted cook. (Neither did Gordon, but to him she could do anything and everything, including walk her own dog.) Take a look at one of her famous family recipes below. Let us know via Facebook if you attempt to create this masterpiece in your own kitchen. Remember, take your time and be patient – practice makes perfect.

 

24xF3ec

 

submitted by stephanie blackford

Leave a Reply

