Out Of Africa: Wine Tasting

Image (view from Delaire Graff – aka – heaven)

I recently returned from a trip to Botswana. As in Africa. I was so inspired by the menus, the decor, the wine, the people, and the animals that I came back with loads of blog topics to share with you, our faithful foodie readers.

This is not one of those blogs.

I started on several blogs that were read-worthy – full of wonderful ideas and beautiful photos and lots of pithy humor and more.  But I am finding myself wallowing in despair because I miss Africa in a way that I can’t describe. So I won’t try.

As you well know, I turn to food or drink when times get tough. And we are out of jelly beans so I am focusing on drink. Wine, to be exact.

After our many days and nights on safari, we landed in Cape Town and embarked on a fantastic winelands tour, stopping off at Rustenberg Winery for a tasting before heading to Delaire Graff for lunch. I imagine the view from heaven is the same as the view from the deck of Delaire Graff, which is good to know because based on some of my past behavior, who knows where I’ll end up in the end. And at least I got to spend a buzzy afternoon in the promised land.

But – back to wine. We were introduced to the Riedel tasting glass at Rustenberg and were immediately smitten. This little glass has an empty stem, allowing for the perfect pour when tasting a wine. We were mesmerized; you can roll the glass around on the table without spilling a drop! SUCH a fun party trick and a great gift idea.

DSCN1302

(Kathleen, Rebecca, and Andy at Rustenberg – look closely and you can see the tipped glass!)

The glass was designed to emphasize the aromas and evaluate different wines in a small period of time. Apparently some people don’t open the wine and start gulping it down right away. These are the same people who don’t have four children and can do the New York Times crossword in pen. These are the same people who don’t know the sheer pleasure of pouring a mid-priced chardonney into a thermos prior to attending yet another showing of Frozen. 

I searched the web for a video of Riedel’s tasting glass, but I had very little luck because Riedel’s videos were a bit stuffy. So – thank you James The Wine Guy, for being sort of human.  And may I suggest something light and crisp for your thermos?Image (Delaire Graff’s delicious wine – I’m in the background gulping sipping in a ladylike fashion)

2 thoughts on “Out Of Africa: Wine Tasting

  1. I love your stories and I am so glad you had a wonderful trip. I know you needed time without children. I also know you missed them.

  2. This is both wonderful and fun. It will make readers want to try the wine as well as go to South Africa! How I wish we were there! Memories fill the corners of my mind!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

