Now It’s Turmeric? How Much Trend Can We Take?

turmeric

I recently read Linda Yellin’s piece “When Did Kale Get A Publicist?” in More Magazine and laughed out loud. Well, first I sort of whimpered because More Magazine just started appearing in my mailbox and I couldn’t figure out why until someone told me, not so gently, that it was because I hit the age of 40. They should just call it Forty – just like they call it Seventeen. It’s mean to tease old people.

After overcoming my surprise and stretching my arms reaallllyyy far in front of my face in order to actually read the article, I wanted to be Yellin’s friend, or at least shop and dine with her. She, too, had a childhood that included weekly meatloaf and a mother who didn’t once ask what I’d like for dinner. I had that mother. I am that mother now. Call me vintage, but with four children, you don’t get a vote on dinner. You just get a designated seat and a plate of food and sometimes a dessert. You’re welcome.

As Yellin points out, trendy foods don’t slowly make their way into our lives, they take over:

“These hot items from the food world don’t just show up on the grocery shelf; they explode into our lives. Suddenly, it’s kale in your face 24/7. Good-bye, olive oil. Hello, coconut oil. Me? I’m still mourning orange roughy. There was a time you couldn’t open a menu without an orange roughy special. But somewhere along the way, wild salmon kicked its ass.” Well said, Yellin, well said.

I recently read in WSJ Magazine that turmeric is today’s hot and trendy spice. “Tumeric is the new kale,” said Sunitha Ramaiah. Oh. Tumeric you say? Alrighty.

Coincidentally, Ramaiah recently launched Manjoor Estates juices to “enlighten Western palates about the curative benefits and complex flavors of spices from her family farm.” This explains why she is not touting the benefits of pineapple I guess.  I always feel a little bit enlightened after my third glass of sangria, but apparently turmeric will enlighten me even more. Wonder which one I’ll like more?

All digs aside, turmeric is actually extremely beneficial. According to Dr. Andrew Weil, the spice may delay liver damage (from the sangria?), reduce carcinogenic compounds formed in meats that are fried, broiled or barbequed, can inhibit the growth of skin cancer and slow the spread of breast cancer to the lungs, and stave off Alzheimer’s disease.

I heard Halle Berry makes a paste of turmeric and water and exfoliates her face every few days. And Halle Barry is, well, Halle Berry need I say more?

Still, keeping tabs on all of the benefits of all the foods and all the spices and all plants in the world is impossible, so why try? Eating good, healthy, minimally processed food and getting some sort of exercise on a regular basis is really the simplest recipe for success. In the meantime, here’s another simple recipe that includes that trendy new spice turmeric (that’s been around for centuries). Cheers to turmeric! And if all else fails, may I suggest some sangria?

Golden Elixer (courtesy of Whole Living Magazine)

Prep time: 1 minutes | Cook time: 1 minute | Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp turmeric
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • Cayenne
  • Honey

Directions:

  1. In a mug, stir together water, lemon juice, turmeric, ginger, cayenne and honey (to taste) until combined.
  2. Drink.
71 thoughts on “Now It’s Turmeric? How Much Trend Can We Take?

  1. Well I eat kale now, I did not like being with the hater crowd who refuse to eat things BECAUSE they are trendy and how bad can it be? I too wonder how much turmeric one diet can take when raised sans turmeric but I love it in Moroccan food. I look forward to trying the Golden Elixir. Cheers to turmeric!

  2. Turmeric has been very helpful to be lately. I had a lip infection and used this along with honey twice a day for 3 days. Everything cleared up and my lips looked better than ever. This compared to the prescription that was supposed to work, but didn’t.

  3. I remember “KALE” making a brief appearance on Modern Family when Cam and Mitchell came back from the farmers market. I told my mum kale was trendy, and her response was “kale? That’s what we feed the cows”

Leave a Reply

