Nuts for Coconut Oil – Yes, It’s That Good.

Chocolate_Banana_Smoothie-2

I just bought a tub of coconut oil and my obsession with it can only be compared with purchasing a golden Labrador puppy. I wake up thinking about the coconut oil. I manage to work the coconut oil into most conversations. I ooh and ahh over the coconut oil. I am smitten, to say the least.

I am learning that coconut oil can be used for basically everything. I think it might even get the government shut-down reversed. If I really did have a puppy, I’d put coconut oil in his food. I’ve considered getting one of those old-school fanny packs to keep my newfound love close by, considering running up and down the stairs every time I need it is exhausting, but really good for the quads. But don’t worry about me; I can use coconut oil for sore muscles!!! It’s a miracle. I just learned that you can use coconut oil to condition guitar strings??!! I am so getting a guitar.

The thing is, I work for Epicurean Culinary Group and this is a catering blog and my passion (besides coconut oil) is food. Alas, I do not have a puppy. And I am not a personal trainer. So while you can use this lovely oil for pets and pecs, I am sharing some simple uses for coconut oil in the kitchen. Here goes:

Eat It:

Need a boost of energy?  Down a couple of spoonfuls of coconut oil and voila. Plus, it satisfies a sweet tooth. Not as much a Snickers Bar, but … still.

Bake It:                

Use coconut oil instead of butter. It’s that simple.

Sauté It:

Coconut oil performs well under pressure. Really. Coconut oil handles high temperatures well, making it ideal for sautéing fish, meats, vegetables and eggs.

Dress It:

Use coconut oil instead of other oils. Just make sure your dressing is kept above 76 F degrees so that the oil does not solidify.

Spread It:

Spread coconut oil on toast, add a sprinkle of cinnamon and enjoy. This makes a great after-school snack for the short set. I have proof.

Blend It:

Add coconut oil to smoothies and shakes. Sweet and healthy. Here’s a favorite recipe:

Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie

Prep time: 5 minutes | Serves: 1

  • 1 cup chocolate milk (we use chocolate-flavored almond milk)
  • 2 Tb natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 of a medium avocado
  • 1 Tb honey or agave
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • Blend all ingredients with a handful of ice and enjoy

Let us know how you incorporated coconut oil into your life by posting on Facebook. I am currently admiring my mega-moisturized hands while typing this blog. This is what love at first sight feels like.

I’m off to recondition my outdoor teak table with…well, you know.

2 thoughts on “Nuts for Coconut Oil – Yes, It’s That Good.

  1. Great article. Got back for. SL at 1 am and had. Great trip. How are you feeling? Really. I would like to make a visit and just need to know if it would work with your schedules. I could come sometime after 10-19. Just let me know. I miss all of you so much. The back yard looks like a magazine feature.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

