Time Flies When You’re Having Rum

Caribbean-rum-punch

Whatever happened to rum? I swear, you move from the sunny shores of the south to the blue skies of the west and all of a sudden rum punch, rum runners, rum and Coke, and even gin rummy disappear quicker than a cheap spray tan. Well, friends, fear not! I am currently sacrificing my summer for the greater good of all Denverites and sampling several rum-somethings while taking in a stunning view of Clearwater beach. I must say I am feeling nostalgic. Rum reminds me of my youth (and some people claim chocolate chip cookies remind them of childhood!?) and the tan? Free. I highly recommend this recipe – and I highly recommend a vacation to the Florida coast.

Rum Two Punch

Prep time: 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dark rum
  • 1 cup coconut rum
  • 3 cups fresh orange juice
  • 2.5 cups fresh pineapple juice
  • 3  tbsp. grenadine syrup
  • Lime (add a generous squeeze to mixture, slice the rest for garnish)
  • Ice cubes

Directions

  • Mix all ingredients, garnish with lime, reapply some sunscreen, and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

