Summer Fun and the Living is EASY

I’ve thrown hundreds of parties over the course of my life. At one point, event planning was a full-time job for me. One that I actually got paid to do – not like the full-time event planning I do for my family. No pay check. No vacation. Highway robbery.

The thing about party prep is that you can either do it the hard way or the easy way. I always chose the hard way. Why? No idea. As you can imagine, the hard way is sort of hard. So I decided to try the easy way and wow am I happy I did. I used paper plates and cups and napkins. Me! I know, I know – shocking but surprisingly simple. I hired my favorite caterer to handle the food and desserts. I made a pitcher of lemonade for the smalls, iced a boatload of wine and beers for the bigs (who later commandeered the lemonade for vodka punch but hey…), and cleaned the hall bathroom. I had fun! I talked with my friends and I tied water balloons for the kids.  I. Ate. Dinner. It’s a miracle.

I am sharing the menu with you, because it’s the right thing to do. Feel free to use this same exact idea at your next gathering.  At first blush, sandwiches, chips, fruit, and dessert seems pretty blasé. But this is Epicurean, folks. All the food was plated beautifully on gorgeous porcelain platters that could have been mine (they weren’t). guests assumed I made the sandwiches  (I didn’t) and the variety appealed to all ages. The desserts I had to hide until later in the evening or they would have disappeared. Little hands and big eyes – you know the drill.

Summer Fun Menu:

???????????????????????????????
Dinner |

Whole Strawberries and Sliced watermelon

Vegetables with Hummus Dip

Sea Salt Potato Chips

Firenze Sandwich  – Smoked Turkey, Provolone, Red Roasted Peppers, Balsamic Mayonnaise, Herbs, Lettuce and Tomato

Petite Caprese Sandwich – Freshly Sliced Mozzarella, Lettuce, Tomato, Olive Oil, and Basil Pesto Served on Ciabatta

Milano Sandwich –  Ham and Dry Salami Seasoned with Herb Oil and Garnished with Provolone, Lettuce and Tomato and Topped with an Italian Aioli.

05-29-13 Vintage Cupcakes & Snowballs (2)

Dessert |

Mini Ding Dongs – Layered Chocolate Cake with Marshmallow Crème Tucked in the Classic Tin Foil Wrapper

Tiny Twinkies – Epicurean’s Version of the Classic Twinkie Dessert with a Marshmallow Crème Filling

Petite Hostess Cupcake -A Mini Rendition of the Original Hostess Cupcake with a Classic Crème Filling, Chocolate Frosting, and Iconic Swirl

Snowballs – Chocolate Cake Covered in Frosting and Rolled in Pink Coconut

5.2013 042

One thought on “Summer Fun and the Living is EASY

  1. Gotta love it—and everyone did. How is the trip going. How are you feeling. Hope everyone is having fun.

    Love You
    Judes

Leave a Reply

