Who Do You Know? | Nikki Olst

Nikki_1

It’s the peeps behind the scenes that really make the magic happen. Let’s face it – without the food, there is no Epicurean. I know, scary. Don’t even think about it. Instead, meet Nikki Olst. Recently promoted to Sous Chef at Sports Authority Field at Mile High, this MVP knows how to be a part of the team. We already liked her, but learning that she always has butter and bacon in the house makes us love her. You will too.

Do you have a favorite meal from childhood?

Coney Island Hot Dog. Yum.

Favorite beverage?

Chocolate milk.

What is your favorite celebration?

Birthdays!  I love to celebrate mine and others.  I think it is important to celebrate them for an entire week.

What is the one thing you always keep in your fridge?

Butter.

What is the one thing you always keep in your freezer?

Bacon.

Favorite time of day?

Nap time. Whatever time I can squeeze one in – that’s my favorite time of day!

Is there something you refuse to eat?

Brussels sprouts. Even bacon can’t save those for me.

What is one restaurant that we will never find you at?

Red Lobster.

Do you have a go-to meal after a long event?

A whiskey neat with a few ice cubes and some meat and cheese and crackers.

What’s your Epicurean food favorite?

Petite Chili Rellanos, even though I’ve made like thousands of them, I can’t stop eating them when they are around.

What bugs you about modern day life?

Cell phones at the dinner table.

Whose kitchen do you want to visit?

Thomas Keller, chef of the French Laundry.

What do you love to make in the kitchen?

Homemade sausage. My dad  learned from his mom and then he taught me.

What do you consider your biggest personal accomplishment?

Changing careers from my desk job to a Culinary job.  I thank my stars I made the leap every single day.

What’s been your favorite event and why of your career?

Living and cooking in Orvieto, Italy.

What do you wish you had known then that you know now?

I wish I would have know that I wanted to be a chef earlier in life.

What is the one thing you’d like to accomplish in life – big or small?

I would like to walk the Camino de Santiago from Spain into Portugal.

Favorite holiday food tradition?

Every major holiday breakfast we would eat Polish Kielbasa growing up.  I have carried it on since, by making my own sausages.

Local celebrity you are dying to meet?

Alex Seidel of Fruition Farms

What is your motto?

I mean what I say, and say what I mean.

One thought on “Who Do You Know? | Nikki Olst

  1. She totally makes me want to quit my job!!!

    But also, whiskey neat with a few ice cubes? That’s not neat then honey, it’s on the rocks (right?).

    Love you!

    On Wed, Apr 17, 2013 at 4:19 PM, Epicurean Events wrote:

    > ** > Epicurean Catering posted: ” It’s the peeps behind the scenes > that really make the magic happen. Let’s face it – without the food, there > is no Epicurean. I know, scary. Don’t even think about it. > Instead, meet Nikki Olst. Recently promoted to Sous Chef at Sports > Authority Field a”

Leave a Reply

