Put a Fork in It? Sharing: part one in an ongoing series by PP

Thanks-For-Sharing

As a puppy I understood the concept of sharing, but dug my paws in when it came to my favorite things which includes, in no particular order: my Hermes collar, my simply stunning Burberry rain jacket with four matching booties, my cashmere bedding from Italy and anything resembling food.

I am often asked about proper etiquette when it comes to sharing. Therefore, dears, I thought an ongoing series on the art of sharing was due. Sharing a meal is our first endeavor. Let’s begin:

If you are considering sharing food at a restaurant, start by considering the company. If you are dining with friends and family, and everyone seems comfortable with sharing, address the issue. A simple “Would anyone be interested in sharing the steak tartare this evening?” works well. Should you be at a dinner with clients or individuals you do not know well, skip the idea entirely.

Below are some simple guidelines to avoid a misstep:

  • Before ordering what you think is a dish to share, ask your tablemates first
  • Never ask for a bite off of someone’s dish; wait to be invited to taste and then place the food item on your plate before tasting
  • Never use another’s fork or spoon to sample – ask your server for necessary accoutrements including utensils and small plates
  • Tip your server for the effort of splitting dishes

Remember, darlings, sharing is a learned skill and practice makes perfect. Happy dining.

One thought on “Put a Fork in It? Sharing: part one in an ongoing series by PP

  1. Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

Leave a Reply

