Who Do You Know? | Joyce Reilly

Joyce

Joyce Reilly is one of the newest members of the Epicurean team – so it is only fair to force – um, ask – her to answer our questionnaire. So, without further ado, meet Joyce. Our Director of Sales is a spirited redhead and mother of three teenagers who claims a lack of fashion sense but appreciates grilled cheese sandwiches and good wine. And honestly, who would you rather hang with – a savvy dresser or a wine and grilled-cheese lover? Exactly.

Favorite Holiday?

St Patrick’s Day is a huge holiday for my family.

What is the one thing you always keep in your fridge?

Other than wine?

What is the one thing you always keep in your freezer?

Ground turkey – we can have tacos, meatloaf, spaghetti, chili, you name it, ready in no time with a couple pounds of ground turkey.

Tell us a secret.

I still own my first car – a 1964 Mustang. It does not run now but one day it will again!

Favorite childhood meal?

Hmm, that is a toss up. I loved my mom’s “almost” homemade spaghetti sauce.  But when I was sick she would make me really yummy grilled cheese sandwiches, they always made me feel better.

What brings you good luck?

My diamond earrings from my husband; I don’t feel complete without them.

Who is your favorite fashion designer?

Haha, I am not into fashion so much, not a shopper at all. Drives my teenage daughters batty. They threaten to put me on “worst dressed” though I am not that bad at all; I just go with what I like when I see it.

What is your favorite meal after a long event?  

Does a glass of wine count as a meal? Add some great cheese and fresh bread and I would call that wonderful.

What do you consider your biggest personal accomplishment?

Three teenagers who are growing up to be incredibly independent and fun people to be around.  And my marriage of 23 years to my hubby Brian.

Best high school memories?

The BEACH, Newport Beach to be exact. We spent as many days as we could, I always had evening waitressing jobs so I could be at the beach all day. And the nights with bonfires at Balboa!

What is the one thing you would like to accomplish in life – big or small?

World Peace – Ok thinking really big here, so I will start with being a positive influence on the people I meet and interact with in life. I believe in each of us making a difference. I tell our kids that they can make a difference if they stand up for what is right and for what they believe in. One person can influence so many people.

Comfort food of choice?

Mmmmm a really great grilled cheese sandwich or mac and cheese. I know it may not be good for you, but the more creamy cheese the better.

Do you have a favorite holiday food tradition?

Corned Beef and Cabbage for St Pat’s day. About 10 years ago we started inviting a few friends over for an Irish meal and it has grown 100-plus person event with my husband and I preparing at least 25 corned beefs, root vegetables, Irish Soda Bread and so much more. It is the perfect way to mark an almost end to winter and start to spring. Vacations are planned around the event, and if for some reason a guest misses the invite there are frantic calls to find out what they did wrong to be excluded. It is our way of showing our love and appreciation for everyone in our lives.

Name your favorite recipe from our 30-year cookbook.

North Beach Salad…true love.

What is your motto?

It is so cliché but truly I believe in giving 110% of yourself to whatever you commit to doing. Say what you are going to do, do what you say you will do, and do it as best as you can.

Leave a Reply

