Parker Presley on Anonymity

parkingnote_blog  parkingnote_blog2

After a happy day of shopping at Nordstrom followed by a delightful dinner with a friend, I trotted out to the parking lot only to find a surprise card on the windshield.  Well!  How exciting!  Perhaps someone had noticed my new collar (a divine little number from Hermes for those of you in need or want)?  Or maybe a suitor, too shy to approach me at the dog park, had left a note for me?

Sadly my darlings, this was not the case.  Instead someone had not only taken the time and spent the money to have these nasty cards professionally printed, but actually had the chutzpa to leave one on my vehicle.  Imagine!

Needless to say I was not only surprised but troubled.  Granted I had not done the very best job parking; after all I am small and have no opposable thumbs.  Still, I find anonymous complaints both immature and ineffective.  In fact, I was recently told about a website allowing angry employees to anonymously disparage their employers. Now what good can come of such pettiness?

Dear, dear, dear.  Is this productive?  Is it kind?  Is it in the spirit of graciousness and propriety?  Some conversations are tricky and uncomfortable, but with the right balance of honesty, tact and respect, a direct message is the only choice.  If I were a betting chap, I would wager that a boss, friend or dog groomer would be more inclined to understand your point of view if you avoid sharpening your claws for a behind-the-back attack.

As for yours truly, I am off to practice my parking…outside of Saks.

Cordially yours,

Paw-small

Parker Presley

Parker_presley

Parker Presley is known in certain social circles as the preeminent expert in etiquette and invites you to contact him with even the most embarrassing question or tricky situation so that you, too, may be top dog in any setting. Please contact him at parkerpresley@epicureancg.com.

Leave a Reply

